Beyond Truro College – Papio Press


Next up in our `Beyond..` series is past student Zanna Goldhawk.
Here is her story in her own words –

“I’m Zanna Goldhawk, originally from Penzance, but now I live in Cheltenham and study Illustration at the University of Gloucestershire.

Going to Truro college completely changed the course of my life, and I’m infinitely glad I chose to travel the hour and fifteen minutes it took me to get there every day because it was more than worth it for the incredible standard of teaching available at the college. Illustration was never a path I’d considered going down until I started my Graphics A Level at Truro, where I fell in love with it completely. I was lucky enough to have some really incredible teachers there (Jago Silver, Georgina Hounsome, Jo Doidge) who were a huge influence and a great inspiration to me, and who I still keep in touch with and still encourage and support me with my work.

I met my partner Harry Marshall at uni, and we started Papio Press together. Papio Press is largely an online business where Harry and I sell our illustrations on various products. We wanted to take our future into our own hands, instead of relying on commissions as illustrators. Our idea was to bring something beautiful into the everyday at affordable prices. We sell iPhone Cases, Notebooks, Pocket Mirrors, Tote Bags, Tea Towels and Prints – and we’re always expanding.
We have storefronts on Etsy and Not On The High Street, and business is booming. One of our products was recently featured in the January issue of Idea Home Magazine, which we can hardly believe since we’re just a couple of third year students who started a little business six months ago.”

A great success and great artwork I think you`ll agree.

You can also follow Zanna and Papio press on Facebook too.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

If you like what you see, let us know!

