Beyond Truro College – Amy Lanyon

Next in our series on past students is our very own screen print technician and artist Amy Lanyon –

“I studied A-level Art at Truro College between 1999 and 2001. During my time there I had to make lots of decisions about the direction of my future and with the fantastic support of the lecturers and tutors I was able to make informed choices that lead me to where I am now, successfully working as an independent artist and designer.”

“My one-off original screen prints evolve from a sequence of processes and exploration of media to produce primarily shape-based and abstract compositions. None of my pieces are named because I want people to interpret the piece themselves, without being influenced by me. Part of my enjoyment of producing abstract pieces is to find out how my work makes people feel, so by leaving my pieces anonymous, I know that I am not influencing their thoughts. I was brought up surrounded by inspirational artwork, my grandfather was the St.Ives artist Peter Lanyon, and so I don’t think I could have avoided being influenced by artists such as Barbara Hepworth and Sir Terry Frost. In 1999 I was lucky enough to meet and interview Sir Terry Frost and I was utterly in awe of his work and his stories behind them.”

You can view more of Amy`s stunning prints online via her website HERE.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

If you like what you see, let us know!

