Beyond Truro College – Chris Mutton

Our next college alumni that has gone on to bigger things is VFX whizz kid Chris Mutton –

“I’m currently working as a Rigging TD / Technical Artist in the VFX industry in London. The company is called Framestore, and after a brief stint in their commercials department I am now working in the world of feature films.  I have only been here a couple of months so far, so haven’t worked on any big blockbusters that I can boast about …yet!

My job is the bridge between the modelling and animation teams.  I take a 3D generated model and add the control systems and skeletons, as well as defining how the model deforms and anything else animation need to make a character move in a believable way.  It’s a great mix of artistic eye and technical knowledge.

Since University I have also worked in the games industry for Sony Computer Entertainment on the Killzone franchise, and for a company called Jellyfish Pictures on a children’s animated TV show called the Floogals.

At Truro College I studied Fine Art with Louise and Tristan, Graphic Illustration with Natalie, as well as Maths and Music Tech.  I also got involved with the regular Life Drawing classes on offer, which has been invaluable to my understanding of human form and function and something I kept up throughout education and still try and attend as often as possible.  I had an enjoyable year on Truro’s Art Foundation course before heading off to Bournemouth to study Computer Animation and Visualisation which is how I got into the career I have now.

Truro was a really great place for me to get a excellent grounding in Art.  The department was always such a fun place to be, full of energy and friendly faces!”

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

If you like what you see, let us know!

